Apple Cinnamon Pancakes

When I was a kid I was all about chocolate chip pancakes. Nothing beat stumbling out my room half awake on a Saturday morning to the smell on pancakes.

As we got older, my sister mastered the art of pancakes. It’s funny because even then I was the food obsessed one, but I could never seem to get pancakes to turn out well.

Since I moved out on my own, I’ve still avoided making pancakes. The whole flipping thing- getting the time right and not making a mess out of the thing you’re flipping- was always just a little much. But I decided to give it another shot, and I am so glad I did.

I found this recipe via foodgawker a month or so ago. The first time through Kyle and I made them together (he flipped). Yesterday morning, I successfully made them on my own! Not only is this recipe vegan, but it’s pretty much fat free and the base is whole wheat flour. It also uses almond meal (which is great since I’m still working through the almond meal I bought months ago).

Apple Cinnamon Pancakes
(adapted from this recipe)
1 c whole wheat flour
2 tbsp almond meal
1 tsp cornstarch
1/2 c apple sauce
1/2 c almond milk
2 tbsp molasses
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp baking soda
lemon juice

1. Combine flour, almond meal, and cornstarch in a small bowl
2. Combine apple sauce, almond milk, and molasses in a medium bowl.
3. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix until smooth.
4. Mix in cinnamon and vanilla.
5. Add baking soda with lemon juice (the lemon juice makes the soda fizz)
6. Cook desired sized pancakes on an oiled skillet over medium heat

Cinnamon Apple Topping
-2 small apples, diced
-cinnamon
-1-2 tbsp brown sugar
-1 tsp coconut oil

1. Add coconut oil to a small pan, heat over low-medium heat
2. When the oil has melted, and the apples to the small along with a healthy sprinkle of cinnamon
3. Cook apples until soft, lower heat and add sugar. Leave on the burner for 2-3 minutes.
4. Pour over pancakes

Leave a Reply

