Cookie Dough Bites (because that’s all you want anyway)

I got started with these the same way I got started with the peanut butter cookies. Fancy smancy baked goods are great, don’t get me wrong, but nothing beats a good chocolate chip cookie.

Late one night I was browsing through articles on The Kitchn (I’ve probably said this before, but check out this site- they literally have articles are everything kitchen/cooking/baking) and I came across their All-Time Favorite: 9 Scrumptious Chocolate Chip CookiesMy obsession fondness for whole wheat things drew me to Joy the Bakers Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough.

 

I swear to God this looked better on my camera…

I followed Joy’s recipe pretty much to the T. Changes included a flax egg, and a peanut butter swirl to about a third of the dough.

The very best part of this recipe was christening my birthday present Kyle (seriously, how well does he know me?). It works beautifully. I thought it was interesting that instead of the mixer moving around (like in a Kitchen Aide) the bowl is on a track and the momentum of the beaters moves it around that track. Cool, huh? (kitchengadgetgeek)

Cookie dough! So. Friggin’ Good.

This recipe is designed so that the dough is frozen in balls and then baked at 350 degrees whenever you feel like it.

But after tasting it at room temperature, I figured I should give it a try while frozen (What if they taste totally different – only one way to find out!). And then I realized… I replaced the egg, so why bake them at all.

So I didn’t. And if you use a flax (or chia!) egg, I think you should eat them raw too. Only one thing beats a warm chocolate chip cookie right out of the oven- raw cookie dough!

 

 

Leave a Reply

