Homemade Butterfingers & the Pantry Project

I have this obsession with candy corn. As soon as October rolls around every year, I start stocking up. I don’t what it is (ok, so it’s probably the high fructose corn syrup, but whatever). When I saw Averie post a recipe for homemade butterfinger bars, I knew I had to make them.

I used the post as an excuse to go out and buy yet another bag of candy corn. And then that bag sat in my pantry for about 8 months. Which brings me to the second part of this post’s title- the Pantry Project.

I’m moving out of my apartment in a month. And not moving into my new apartment until September. I think I’ve figured out where my stuff is going, but I’m really not trying to store a whole lot of food. So for the next month I’m not buying anything but produce, and trying me best to use up everything in my pantry.


(our lease doesn’t allow toaster ovens, so we hid it)

So for the first iteration of this project, I finally got around to making homemade butterfingers. I adapted the original recipe slightly to account for things I didn’t have/ didn’t have enough of and doubled it to use as much of my candy corn as possible. And the results were pretty damn delicious.

Homemade Butterfingers
2 c candy corn
1/3 c peanut butter
1/3 c almond butter
6 oz white chocolate
6 oz chopped Trader Joe’s dark chocolate
A few drips of coconut oil

I made it in two batches – one with peanut butter and chocolate, like the recipe called for. Chocolate chips were the actual ingredient, but lacking them I melted some chocolate bars (with coconut oil for smoothness). The second batch used almond butter (b/c I ran out of smooth peanut butter) and white chocolate (because, for once, my chocolate bar stash was lacking).

Step 1: Melt candy corn in greased bowl (and yes, melty candy corn does taste even better). My microwave is incredibly weak, so it took over a minute before the corn was melted enough for all the colors to meld together.

Step 2: Once the colors are combined, add the nut butter. More microwave time will probably be necessary to ensure even distribution of candy corn/nut butter (it definitely was in my case).

Step 3: Press into a foiled pan. The foil part is important.

Step 4: Melt some chocolate. And be careful not to use a dish that gets stupidly hot in the microwave (whoops). Spread/ pour onto the combo in the pan. Since I was using two different types of chocolate I made a makeshift foil divider. Though now I’m wondering how chocolate/ white chocolate swirled bars would taste…

Step 5: The actual step is to pop the pan in the freeze for 10 min and then cut the bars. I missed this somehow, and left the bars in the fridge for 5 hrs instead (not intentionally that long, I just have ADD). This made them really hard to cut. In the end I just snapped them into awkward peices with my hands.

But, let me tell you, that did not affect the taste. Seriously, these things are like crack (and I am not complaining). I’m quite sure these will be gone by the end of the week…

One thought on “Homemade Butterfingers & the Pantry Project

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cookie Sammitches | anythingbutranch

Leave a Reply

