Vegan Carrot Cake Cupcakes

For not being vegan, I certainly made vegan things pretty often. I think it’s a combination of trying to make the world a better place and trying to disprove the stereotype that if its vegan, it can’t taste good.

Kyle got me this for Christmas. I made the raspberry scones a week or so ago and they were incredible. As in, best scones I have ever eaten. Ok, so maybe I’ve liked scones enough to bake them since like a year ago, but still- fantastic. Since they turned out so well I was itching to try another recipe. In honor on my roommate’s return from a 6 week stint in Brasil, I settled on the carrot cupcakes (one of her favorites).

The only problem I have with this book is the off the wall ingredients recipes often call for. I understand why, but my budget isn’t appreciative. The only special ingredient I needed for this conveniently, was rice milk. I probably could have substituted almond milk (which I usually buy anyway), but I didn’t. It wasn’t too pricey and actually tastes delicious.

I also had to restock my agave – which, holy moly I did not realize was quite so expensive.

I measured and mixed the dry ingredient the day before to save myself some time. I have a feeling they settled overnight though because the batter ended kind of gummy. Does anyone know if that happens?

In the end, I was actually kind of disappointed in them as cupcakes. They weren’t very sweet and the gummy batter turned real dough-y when baked. (Other possible problem – my oven does not regulate its temperature remotely effectively).

So what’s a girl to do? I couldn’t surprise my roommate with some meh-concoction (that’s not how I roll). Obviously, cut each cupcake in fours and roll it in powered sugar! Ok, so I kind of de-veganized it here, but barely! And you what? That’s all these suckers needed.

Babycakes Carrot Cake Cupcakes (1/2 recipe)

1.5 c Gluten Free Flour (I used all-purpose because it’s what I had – maybe a mistake?)
1/2 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tbsp baking soda
1/2 tsp xanthan gum
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/3 c coconut oil
1/2 c agave
1/2 c rice milk
1/2 tbsp vanilla
1/4 c hot water
1.5 c shredded carrots

Measure and combine dry ingredients.
Add wet. Make sure all the clumps of dry stuff are gone- I had some issues with this.
Fold carrots in with spatula.
Pour a 1/3 c into lined cupcake tins (I ended up using a little less than this per cupcake).
Bake at 3–? for 25-30 min or until a toothpick comes out clean.
Let cool for 30 minutes.
Remove liners and cut into quarters. Roll each piece in powered sugar and enjoy!

*Makes 48 cupcake “bites”

Leave a Reply

