Bread

Some of you have heard me rant before about my fear of yeast. I know, it’s kind of weird. I’ve just always been under the impression that using yeast makes baking anything ten times harder, and increases the likelihood of messing up a recipe just as much. Now, my goal for this year is to conquer that fear (and for the record, I did make this delicious and awesome cinnamon pull apart bread with Nick and it turned out delicious), but I haven’t quite come up with the strength yet.

Instead, I found an alternative. I found a recipe for bread that is yeastless and insanely delicious. Ok, so it’s not bread in the traditional sense. But it gets me that carb fix and only takes about a half hour, start to finish. I bring you my most recent vice, yogurt flatbread!

Yogurt Flatbread
adapted slightly from A Communal Table

Ingrediants:
-1 1/2 c whole wheat flour
-1 heaping tsp oregeno
-1 heaping tsp basil
-1 tsp onion powder
-1/2 tsp garlic powder
-1 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 3/4 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp baking soda
– small container or non fat greek yogurt (3/4 c/ 6 oz)
-3 tbsp almond milk
-2 tbsp + olive oil

Combine flour, spices, salt, baking powder and soda. Add yogurt and combine with hands until a stiff dough forms. Add milk, by tablespoon, until dough is slightly sticky. Split the dough into 6 part, and roll into balls. Use your hands to mold each ball into a round patty. Heat a tsp of oil in a small frying pan over medium heat. Saute patties in frying pan one as a time, flipping halfway through. Add a tsp of oil each time you flip a patty or put a new one in.

You really could use any combination of spices you wanted. Oregano and onion powder are two of my favorites.

Getting the dough to the right consistency is kind of tricky- especially with whole wheat dough. It’s kind of trial and error, unfortunately.

Before and after patty pictures. Try to make them as thin as possible. If the edges start cracking and pieces are fall apart and everything’s going wrong, feel free to roll the dough back into a ball and start again. Feel free to add more flour/ milk as necessary.

I promise your kitchen will smell wonderful during the process and for the next 24 hours (your clothing/ hair will smell the same). I should have timed how long each side took, but honestly I was washing dishing and flipping them based on how many spoons were clean (not my best moment, I know…).

I enjoyed my flatbreads with eggs (and smoothies, and as snacks, etc. etc. – I cannot get enough of these things!)

Ps. Again, I apologize for the quality of these pictures. After two months of changing hands, I got my camera battery back today. Better pictures for next post, promise!

Leave a Reply

