Mind Blowing Brownies

Helloooo WordPress. Quick backstory – blogger was driving Nick and I nuts, so here we are on wordpress. In theory, that means more updates. Get Hype.

& back to the brownies..

Sometime last week I realized it had been a really long time since I had made brownies. And by I long time, I since like…summer. Weird. Very weird. This needed to be changed asap. I also had some cookie butter from Trader Joe’s sitting in my cabinet, begging to be used.

The obvious solution was to make Fudgy Nutella Brownies. I made them last summer, and  they. were. bomb. I ended up freezing them in little chunks and munching on them every day after work. This time, I decided to replace the Nutella with cookie butter.

I also decided to change up the frosting. Don’t get me wrong, I could (/often do…) eat cream cheese frosting from the container. Despite my intense urge to make up for lost time with these brownies, I almost made this awesome looking peanut butter sheet cake. I figured I could find a happy medium by making the peanut butter frosting from that recipe. And adding some cookie butter, of course.

My friend Sam/ favorite kitchen aide came over to help me with the creation.

Cookie Butter Brownies with Peanut/Cookie Butter Frosting
adapted from Love Veggies and Yoga & The Girl Who Ate Everything

Brownie Ingredients:
-4 squares semi-sweet baking chocolate
-3/4 c butter (I used salted)
-1 1/2 c sugar
-3 eggs
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-2 TBSP brewed coffee
-1 heaping c white flour
-1/2 c cookie butter (slightly melted)

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease 9 x 13 pan.

Microwave chocolate and butter until butter melts. Stir until chocolate is completely melted. Add ingredients as listed EXCEPT cookie butter. Pour the batter into the pan. Drizzle cookie butter across the surface and leave it. Cook for 25- 28 min (I cooked to about 35, but I have the world’s weakest oven).

Frosting Ingredients:
-3/4 c butter
-6 TBSP buttermilk
-1/2 c peanut butter
-3 1/2 c powder sugar
-1 TBSP vanilla
-3 heaping spoonfuls of cookie butter

Melt butter and peanut butter in a saucepan on high heat. Stir until combined, turn heat to low and add buttermilk, powered sugar, and vanilla. Then add cookie butter to taste.

Spread frosting onto cake immediately. I also recommend sprinkling with white chocolate chips.

One thought on “Mind Blowing Brownies

Leave a Reply

