Why Hello November

It’s cool that you’re here- I mean, veg head or not I love thanksgiving. But hot damn did you sneak up on me. All through October I was convinced you’d never get here.

November means soup and chili and tea. And while I hate the cold, I do love comfort food and fuzzy blankets (I’m also more at peace with it this year since I’m not living in an attic/ remodeled porch. Oh, college).

Normally when I go this long without posting it’s because I’m not taking enough pictures of what I’m cooking. I have been taking pictures- but I keep documenting the mediocre recipes instead of the freaking awesome ones. So in an effort to keep my blog from feeling too neglected, here are some delicious things that have been concocted in my kitchen recently.

*Pictures do not belong to me. Click on them to check out the original recipe!

If you’re trying anything at home and have a question, please feel free to ask! Nothing makes me happier then answering cooking questions! (Except maybe eating cookie dough bites, but I digress).

1. Garlicky Baked Butternut Squash from Oh She GlowsI recently rediscovered the wonders of butternut squash. It’s super cheap and kind of hard to really mess up. The hardest part is chopping it up (which is really only hard because I have sh*tty knives). This recipe was so good I was eating it cold from the refrigeration as a late night snack.

2. Balsamic Reduction

There’s no real pretty picture for this one (vinegar is vinegar, let’s be real). Picture aside though, it is by and far my favorite sauce to have on hand. My favorite thing to put it on is rice. And it takes five minutes and two ingredients to make. I learned how here.

3. Vegan 3-Bean Chili from Eating for England

I’m not sure what else to say about this except that is is insanely delicious. I ramped up the spices a little, and used white beans instead of kidney beans. Definitely the most filling and satisfying veggie chili I’ve ever had/made. Approved by two meat eaters as well!

5. Baked Apple Oatmeal from Yummy Mummy Kitchen

I bought a few two many apples on my last shopping trip, so I decided to rekindle my love affair with baked oatmeal. My apples were kind of small, so instead of baking the oatmeal in the apples I went with the 8×8 baking dish method. I used a mixture of molasses and honey instead of maple syrup. The flavor of the molasses worked so well with the apples! It’s such an underrated sweetener.

5. Reese’s Pumpkin Peanut Butter Cups from Chocolate Covered Katie

I am absolutely addicted to this. Both the pumpkin version above, and the more traditional ones. Something just feels better about eating chocolate made from three ingredients you put together yourself (which also means you can eat more of it, right??). But seriously, these take no time to make and are the perfect anytime treat!

2 thoughts on “Why Hello November

Leave a Reply

