Peanut Butter Cookie Sammitches

Sometime last week it occurred to me that I couldn’t remember the last time I made a batch of normal cookies. I mean, sure I made breakfast cookies a few weeks ago, and I made a few different batches during the Pantry Project but that was a while ago. And I really don’t know when I last made peanut butter cookies.

In high school, I went through a stage where I made peanut butter cookies every other week. I’m not sure why I was so obsessed with them (maybe just because they were mad delicious). I really need to write that recipe down the next time I visit my parents… I mostly remember tgis particular recipe didn’t call for flour so I was mystified that the cookies turned out like, well cookies, the first time I made them.

Since I didn’t have that recipe, I settled on one that I pinned a while ago. I also found a container of funfetti chocolate frosting in my cabinet (ie. chocolate frosting with sprinkles in a container attached to the lid), so I figured sandwich cookies were in order.

Being that I’m perpetually on a health/vegan kick, I was super excited to find a recipe I pinned months ago for Soft Whole Wheat Vegan Peanut Butter Cookies.

The first substitution I made of course was the one to make them non-vegan. Oh well. I love honey and I didn’t have maple syrup (maybe I should have tried molasses? Next time.). And since I do love honey I replaced 2/3 the maple syrup with it, and the the last third with sugar. I ended up using about a 1/4 c of white flour instead of all whole wheat (I didn’t want them to be mad dense). The flax seed is pictured because I assumed an egg replacer was required (I even went and made it….then reread the recipe).

Note my awkward almond-coconut milk. Weirdest milk product I’ve ever bought- it wasn’t bad, just kind of strange. The peanut butter did a solid job masking its semi-strange taste.

You can also see the doodle on my bedroom door if you look closely :p (yes, my bedroom is attached to my kitchen and it makes mornings SO much better).

Tasty dough! With sprinkles from the funfetti icing. I think I was procrastinating when making these, so I conveniently forced myself to be productive while the dough chillled (Also- knowing fresh baked cookies are in your immediate future made doing work way easier).

Divided, pressed, sugar and salt sprinkled dough. The press/sugar/salt part was really fun. Seriously, I usually hate putting-dough-on-cookie-sheet part, but not this time. Not sure why this picture is so orange (I tried taking it several times – no dice).

Hot, fresh cookies! sans icing.

 I kind of love how this picture turned out. And they tasted as good as they look here! By themselves, I don’t think they were quite sweet as I normally like my cookies. However, the low level of sweetness allowed them to balance the extreme sweetness of the icing extremely well.

And now I still have half a container of chocolate icing in my fridge. There may be cupcakes in my future…

Leave a Reply

